Flirtatious

In one of my early posts One for the Road I talked about how I like to have around three projects on my needles at a time.  I like to have projects going that help advance my skill set and proficiency.  I also like to have projects that I don’t really have to think too hard about and can relax while watching a movie or having a conversation without having to worry too much about keeping focused attention on my work.

So for the most part, I am not a monogamous knitter.  Recently, however as some projects were completed and others were “frogged” without casting on new ones, I have dwindled down to a single shawl project that I’m working on as a Christmas present.  I’m not saying for whom. Spoilers.

I really hadn’t realized I had gotten to this state.  Life has been very, VERY hectic lately.  I’m slowly turning my property into a homestead.  I have chickens, vegetable and herb garden and plans to expand.

My beloved younger daughter is getting married next month and guess who is baking the cakes (plural) for it.  Yep.  Scary.

I wrangle 2 boys and a pit/lab mix 3 days a week.  Adorable, fun, exhausting.

I could go on, but I think you grasp the idea.

Because of all the busyness my mind is in constant “what’s next?” mode and the time and mental energy to sit and consider what else I wanted to be working on was just not there.  But pendulums swing.

pendulum

Now I’ve gone from being monogamous to downright flirtatious.  I would use the word Harlot (nods to Stephanie Pearl-McPhee ) but that’s taken.

I am very, very close to finishing the shawl so it was pretty urgent that I start deciding what else needs to be cast on.

First of all, I picked up the project bag to a pair of socks that had languished and after considering for a bit, I chose to start fresh and frog the project back.  I still want to continue on my journey toward confident and skilled sock knitter so I took the same yarn and cast on Hermione’s Everyday Socks,  still being as busy as I was before I am still working on the cuff of the first sock, but, it’s a start.

Secondly, I spend 3 days a week with the aforementioned boys and dog.  I am not really willing to take any knitting projects with me because if young mister or the pup got ahold of it, there would be tears.  Mostly mine.  But to not have ANY projects to work on while I am there is not to my liking. So I decided to dust off my crochet hook and do some stash busting by starting a simple granny stripe blanket to take with me.  I am far less concerned about having to pull back a bit on a crochet project than I would be to try and repair tangles or damage on a knitted project.  I’m still working on the foundation row for this since I decided to learn how to do the Foundation Single Crochet Stitch to begin it.

I should have this ready to travel in the next day or two.

I also received the gift of some nice hemp yarn.

IMG_0551

I’ve wanted to try out this fiber for some time now, so I was delighted with the gift.  Because it is a stiffer texture than the fibers I usually work with I’m leaning toward a nice farmer’s market type shopping bag. It is a little less than 200 yards so it would have to be a medium sized bag.  I’m still perusing Ravelry and Pinterest trying to decide on a pattern.  Suggestions?

Finally, this seems to be the month for reviving old skills. As I mentioned, my daughter is getting married next month.  I have found the perfect cross stitch pattern that I would like to make for the event.  I feel safe posting about this here.  She is a busy working woman, preparing for a wedding and NOT a knitter, so my secret should be safe.  However, I will save the details and the photo of the completed project until after it has been given to the new couple, just to be on the safe side.  This would be the ONE time she decided she needed to read Mom’s blog.

So, the current tally is:

2 knitting projects on the needles

1 pending project

1 crochet project

and a cross stitch project.

I think that pendulum may have swung just a bit too far.

Before I go, let me just share a few of the new colorways that have been coming out of my kitchen:

This party’s just getting started.

Cheers,

Jamye

2 thoughts on “Flirtatious

  1. I wish I only had 3… I’ve lost count of how many UFO’s there are in both knitting, embroidery and “other”. And I even paired it down recently! I bore easily though, so it’s hard to stick with just one at a time or even 3. Then there’s the business of business that keeps distracting me too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

