First, There’s Mud…

There’s a quote from the movie “Shadowlands”, which is a peek into the life of C.S. Lewis, that comes to mind from time to time:

“I’ve always found this a trying time of the year.  The leaves not yet out, mud everywhere you go.  Frosty mornings gone.  Sunny mornings not yet come.  Give me blizzards and frozen pipes, but not this nothing time, not this waiting room of the world.”

One of the things I mentioned in a previous post, A Reason to Celebrate,  is how much I love the changing of the seasons.  I like to do something to celebrate each one of them as they arrive, even if it’s nothing more than a new set of flannel pajamas and a pumpkin spiced latte when Autumn arrives.  So I love each new season as it arrives but, as Lewis recognized, there is that in between point that leaves a lot to be desired.

In the past several weeks I have begun diving into the world of hand dyeing yarn and it has been fun! I have been dreaming and building toward this for some time now.  It all started with stalking various Indie Dyers on YouTube and Instagram whose colorways could bankrupt me for decades if I bought all that I would like to own.  I blogged earlier about the experience of buying from the very popular Kristen of Yarngasm Podcast in my post, Yarn Buying: Bloodsport. 

I have a Yarn Bucket List page in my Bullet Journal of different folks I want to buy from.

Countess Ablaze

Gnome Acres

Invictus Yarns

Just to name a few.

I’ve been reading books, I took a class, I have watched numerous YouTube tutorials, and picked the brains of local friends with experience. I was on a mission!

During this time I was also slowly gathering the supplies I would need to launch into this new (to me) art. Finally, I decided it was time to get started.

I don’t know about you, but I always want to be a prodigy at a new venture.  Always.  When I get started I want it to all come naturally, as if I was born to do this.  When I show my work I want to hear the “ooohs” and “aaaahs” as folks look wonderingly at my work and wonder why they bother going to art museums.  🙂  Perhaps, that is too much to ask?

Not to worry.  In most cases, any new art or craft will quickly give you a reality check.

As I prepared my dye pots and undyed wool, oh so carefully, referring back to notes or tutorials I began my process.  One of the very first things I learned from this is that I had to “Surrender the Outcome”. You can be careful and focused, you can refine your technique but, to some degree, the dye pot’s gonna do, what the dye pot’s gonna do”.

First attempts:

darkandtwistyroad

and

paintedmessaBoth turned out well and I was happy with the colors, but there was a lot more blending than I was originally going for.

Just like the first small eggs from my backyard chickens, not bad, but we can do better.

So I asked more questions, gathered more info and soon I was getting this:

This was the “Persevere” part of the lesson.

I’m planning on doing a lot more colorways and I have more plans in the works.

But here’s what I want to leave you with today: When you are learning, growing, or doing whatever to build toward the life you want, remember it is part Surrender and part Persevere.  How can you tell how much of each?  Everyone discovers that for themselves.  That is why there are no two works of art just alike.

Here’s to colorful journeys that go from mud to flowers,

Jamye

2 thoughts on “First, There’s Mud…

  1. Dyeing is a lot of trial and error at first. There are happy accidents and not so happy accidents. Take lots of notes if you are wanting to duplicate your results. I love hand dyed yarns just because no 2 are exactly alike. I miss dyeing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have two notebooks. One is a journal in which I just write what I did, results, thoughts. Adjustments I might want to make. The other is a “recipe book” to try and recreate results I was very happy with.

      Like

Leave a Reply

